Latifa Gahouchi – Sénatrice – Députée régionale

26 February 1961, date, two events.

This is unfortunate but it is a fact, we are not likely to be able to boast of being born on the same day when a king dies.

That is what happened in Morocco, this 26 February 1961.

Mohamed V, King of Morocco and heroes of the country's Independence proclaimed in 1956, does not wake up yet a minor surgery.

A few 600 km from Rabat where news spreads slowly, in the border town of Oujda precisely, Latifa was born.

While the country is in mourning, her father refuses to cancel the party that he planned to organize in honor of the child.

His father just, who is he ?

He is a young peacekeeper as it was then, handsome, who is predicted a brilliant career with the National Police.

Except that this man has a keen awareness of social inequalities whose people suffered.

Social inequality, plunder the country's wealth by an oligarchy accomplice of the regime, endemic corruption and especially absolute power in the hands of a true dictator ...

If the historical figure of Mohamed V remains closely linked to the battle fought against the French presence in Morocco and 1956, year signaled the end of the French protectorate in Morocco, Mohamed V was so discreet monarch and more or less liked by his people, nothing like his son Hassan II, the very man who succeeded him in 26 February 1961.

The King's secret gardens :

The books written by historians, journalists or "survivors" abound that tell more or less detail the years of lead, the dark years, horror years, real terror and continues in which lived the Moroccan people, starting with the opponents of the regime, these modern heroes, Belkacem as Gahouchi, dared to say NO.

While his father was anxious to rebuild national unity based on the representatives of all the existing political currents : moderate Islamists representatives of the Left through the nationalists, nothing like at Hassan II who will constantly make every effort to gag, bend, to silence all dissenting voices to his dictatorial regime, first and foremost there is the figurehead of Mehdi Ben Barka, murdered in December 1965 in the suburbs of Paris, probably from the hands of the Minister of the Interior at the time General Oufkir, on the orders of Hassan II and with the complicity of agents SDCE, French intelligence, .

During the 30 years of the reign of Hassan II, all over the country repression rages, arbitrary arrests everywhere, the student beatings and rape of student protesters on strike, throughout the country multiply opponents abduction, bullying close, the practice of torture is widespread, becomes commonplace.

The prisons are full, Yet this does not seem enough for this man who has a taste for absolute power and does not support any contradiction, no opposition.

Indeed, Is it necessary to recall that Hassan II has been the only head of state of the twentieth century have thrown hundreds of opponents in a prison ?

(for those who want to "read more», strongly they are advised to read the excellent Our friend the King, Gilles Perrault).

Belkacem Gahouchi, activist in the UNFP and supported in this just struggle and brave by his young wife and despite the risks involved and he is well aware, learns almost by chance, it will be the subject of an imminent arrest.

In 24h, he flees the country, through Franco's Spain and arrives in Belgium 1965

Twelve years before he could again walk the streets of his beloved country.

He never ceased his struggle to expose, from Belgium where he could count on the active solidarity of many friends and comrades, in the PS or the FGTB, multiple violations of human rights and bring the word of his friends back home and some, with whom he began his political involvement, did not return alive from the hands of their captors, others that nobody knows where they were buried because there is no doubt about the doom that was reserved for them by their torturers.

When is the eldest daughter of such a man, is there a more beautiful way, more to borrow than the trade union and political commitment to testify to his refusal inequalities, injustices of all kinds ?

Do Not, of course not, Latifa was quick to borrow this sacred way never to leave.

Who asked him how far back his memories engaged, it meets at the age of 12 years ago, at a time when his school friends took advantage of the festival from May 1 to afford an oily deserved morning, she walked the streets of the city, carrying the flag of the USFP ( Moroccan Socialist Party), walking behind the flags of PS or FGTB intoning an International she knew by heart already.

Another vivid memory of a childhood and a youth decidedly unlike any other such, commemorating the premises of the carolo FGTB's assassination Mehdi Ben Barka, each year on the same date.

Sitting or curled up in a chair when the speeches were too long, everywhere she accompanied this admired and adored father who replied when asked why he always associated his children all commitments : "The new Morocco we dream, it will not happen without you.

You are the future of your country and I want for my country intelligent youth, informed and engaged ".

The commitment yet, commitment always :

She has 19 years when M. Bertouille, Liberal Minister of Education as we said at the time, decides to enact a law whose stated goal is to reduce (the risk of removing almost) the number of foreign students allowed to continue their studies in our High Schools and Universities.

No need for big speeches to understand the scandalous nature of this measure.

Indeed, she killed in the bud hope for a development of the Third World obtained through the homecoming of a young elite trained abroad.

Even at personal, it is not affected by this as it considers discriminatory, Latifa does not hesitate to engage with peers a hunger strike that will last 12 days, after which the measure will keep students strange in the territory.

Later, elected president of the UNEM, (Moroccan Socialist Union of foreign students), it will defend whenever necessary rights of each other to continue their education in the best possible conditions.

Seen, consistency and enthusiasm are undoubtedly the hallmarks of this unusual life.

Years later, become an adult and a mother who has it become ?

It remained the same or nearly : she learned to fight for its values, she knows that time is often an ally to advance an idea or a project, in the political field it works against anyone, but for the common good.

Opponents, even enemies she has and there are many, they call cynicism, law of the strongest against the law fairer,

isolation, despair, unemployment, insecurity, fear of the future, Poverty ...

Municipal Councillor in 7 years, she took the time to learn the operation of the "city machine", she learned to build cases and follow to the end and never give up, despite the obstacles that never fail, obviously.

It is not a beginner, an "amateur", much less a dilettante.

Bosseuse, fonceuse, she loves the job always more rewarding and exhilarating team.

July 2007, decision of Paul Magnette, she was chosen to fill the post of Deputy Mayor tremendous support of Education, Training, Health Promotion in the School; Aerated Recreational Centre and Youth.

During those four years, She has completed many projects, launched several projects, stabilized many precarious situations unacceptable in his eyes.

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Google Plus

Latifa Gahouchi – Sénatrice – Députée régionale

26 février 1961, une date, deux événements.

On peut le regretter mais c’est un fait, nous ne sommes pas nombreux à pouvoir nous vanter d’être nés le jour même où un Roi se meurt.

C’est pourtant ce qui s’est passé au Maroc, ce 26 février 1961.

Mohamed V, Roi du Maroc et héros de l’Indépendance du pays proclamée en 1956, ne se réveille pas d’une intervention chirurgicale pourtant bénigne.

A quelques 600 km de Rabat où la nouvelle se répand peu à peu, dans la ville frontière de Oujda précisément, Latifa voit le jour.

Alors que le pays est en deuil, son père refuse d’annuler la fête qu’il a prévue d’organiser en l’honneur de cet enfant.

Son père justement, qui est-il ?

C’est un jeune gardien de la paix comme on disait alors, bel homme, à qui on prédit une brillante carrière au sein de la police nationale.

Sauf que cet homme a une conscience aigüe des inégalités sociales dont le peuple est victime.

Inégalités sociales, spoliation des richesses du pays par une oligarchie complice du régime en place, corruption endémique et surtout pouvoir absolu aux mains d’un véritable dictateur…

Si la figure historique de Mohamed V reste étroitement liée au combat livré contre la présence française au Maroc et à 1956, année qui sonna le glas du Protectorat français au Maroc, si Mohamed V fut un monarque discret et plus ou moins apprécié par son peuple, rien de tel pour son fils Hassan II, celui-là même qui lui succéda en ce 26 février 1961.

Les jardins secrets du Roi :

Les livres rédigés par les historiens, les journalistes ou les « rescapés » ne manquent pas qui racontent avec plus ou moins de détails les années de plomb, les années noires, les années d’horreur, la terreur véritable et continue dans laquelle vécut le peuple marocain, à commencer par les opposants au régime, ces héros modernes qui, comme Belkacem Gahouchi, ont osé dire NON.

Alors que son père était soucieux de reconstruire l’unité du pays en s’appuyant sur les représentants de tous les courants politiques existants : des islamistes modérés aux représentants de la Gauche en passant par les nationalistes, rien de tel chez Hassan II qui n’aura de cesse de tout mettre en œuvre pour bâillonner, faire plier, faire taire toutes les voix dissonantes à son régime dictatorial, au premier rang desquelles on retrouve la figure emblématique de Mehdi Ben Barka, assassiné en décembre 1965 dans la banlieue de Paris, sans doute des mains mêmes du Ministre de l’Intérieur de l’époque Le Général Oufkir, sur ordre d’Hassan II et avec la complicité d’agents du SDCE, les services secrets français, .

Durant les 30 années du règne d’Hassan II, partout dans le pays la répression fait rage, partout les arrestations arbitraires, les passages à tabac des étudiants et les viols d’étudiantes manifestants ou en grève, dans tout le pays se multiplient les enlèvements d’opposants, l’intimidation des proches, la pratique de la torture qui se généralise, se banalise.

Les prisons sont pleines, pourtant cela ne semble pas assez pour cet homme qui a le goût du pouvoir absolu et ne supporte aucune contradiction, aucune opposition.

En effet, est-il besoin de rappeler qu’Hassan II aura été le seul chef d’Etat du XXème siècle à avoir jeté des centaines d’opposants dans un bagne ?

(pour celles et ceux qui veulent « en savoir plus », on leur conseille vivement la lecture de l’excellent Notre ami le Roi, de Gilles Perrault).

Belkacem Gahouchi, militant au sein de l’UNFP et soutenu dans ce combat juste et courageux par sa jeune épouse et malgré les risques qu’il encourt et dont il est tout à fait conscient, apprend presque par hasard, qu’il sera l’objet d’une arrestation imminente.

En 24h, il fuit le pays, traverse l’Espagne de Franco et arrive en Belgique en 1965

Douze années s’écouleront avant qu’il puisse à nouveau fouler les rues de son pays tant aimé.

Jamais il ne cessa son combat pour dénoncer, depuis la Belgique où il pût compter sur la solidarité active de très nombreux amis et camarades, au sein du PS ou de la FGTB, les atteintes multiples aux droits de l’homme et porter la parole de ses camarades restés au pays et dont certains, avec lesquels il avait débuté son engagement politique, ne revinrent pas vivants des mains de leurs geôliers, d’autres dont personne ne sait où ils ont été enterrés puisque aucun doute ne subsiste sur le sort funeste qui leur a été réservé par leurs tortionnaires.

Quand on est la fille aînée de pareil homme, existe-t-il une voie plus belle, plus grande à emprunter que celle de l’engagement syndical et politique pour témoigner de son refus des inégalités, des injustices en tous genres ?

Non, évidemment non, Latifa a d’ailleurs rapidement emprunté cette voie sacrée pour ne jamais plus la quitter.

A qui lui demande à quand remontent ses souvenirs engagés, elle répond qu’à l’âge de 12 ans déjà, à l’heure où ses copines de classe profitaient de la Fête du 1er mai pour s’offrir une grasse matinée bien méritée, elle arpentait les rues de la ville, portant le drapeau de l’USFP ( le Parti socialiste marocain), marchant derrière les fanions du PS ou de la FGTB en entonnant une Internationale qu’elle connaissait par cœur déjà.

Autre souvenir marquant d’une enfance et d’une jeunesse décidément à nulle autre pareilles, la commémoration dans les locaux de la FGTB carolo de l’assassinat de Mehdi Ben Barka, chaque année à la même date.

Assise ou recroquevillée sur une chaise lorsque les discours étaient trop longs, partout elle accompagnait ce père admiré et adoré qui répondait lorsqu’elle lui demandait pourquoi il associait toujours ses enfants à tous ses engagements : « le Maroc nouveau dont nous rêvons, il ne se fera pas sans vous.

Vous êtes l’avenir de votre pays et je veux pour mon pays une jeunesse intelligente, informée et engagée ».

L’engagement encore, l’engagement toujours :

Elle a 19 ans lorsque M. Bertouille, Ministre Liberal de l’Education nationale comme on disait à l’époque, décide de promulguer une Loi dont l’objectif avoué est de réduire (au risque de les supprimer presque totalement) le nombre d’étudiants étrangers autorisés à poursuivre leurs études dans nos Hautes Ecoles et Universités.

Pas besoin de grands discours pour comprendre le caractère scandaleux de cette mesure.

En effet, elle tuait dans l’œuf l’espoir d’un développement du Tiers Monde obtenu grâce au retour au pays d’une jeune élite formée à l’étranger.

Alors même qu’à titre personnel, elle n’est pas concernée par cette mesure qu’elle juge discriminatoire, Latifa n’hésite pas à entamer avec ses camarades une grève de la faim qui durera 12 jours et au terme de laquelle cette mesure sera de garder les étudiants étrangés présents sur le territoire.

Plus tard, élue présidente de l’UNEM, (syndicat socialiste marocain des étudiants de l’étranger), elle défendra chaque fois que nécessaire les droits des uns et des autres à poursuivre leurs études dans les meilleures conditions possibles.

On le voit, cohérence et enthousiasme sont sans doute les maîtres mots de ce parcours peu commun.

Des années plus tard, devenue une adulte et une mère de famille qui est-elle devenue ?

Elle est restée la même ou presque : elle a appris à se battre pour défendre ses valeurs, elle sait que le temps est souvent un allié pour faire progresser une idée ou un projet, sur le terrain politique elle ne travaille contre personne mais pour le bien commun.

Des adversaires, des ennemis même elle en a et ils sont nombreux, ils se nomment cynisme, loi du plus fort contre loi du plus juste,

isolement, désespoir, chômage, précarité, peur du lendemain, pauvreté…

Conseillère communale durant 7 années, elle a pris le temps d’apprendre le fonctionnement de la « machine ville », elle a appris à monter des dossiers et à les suivre jusqu’au bout sans jamais renoncer, en dépit des obstacles qui ne manquent jamais, évidemment.

Elle n’est donc pas une débutante, une « amateur », encore moins une dilettante.

Bosseuse, fonceuse, elle aime le travail en équipe toujours plus enrichissant et exaltant.

Juillet 2007, sur décision de Paul Magnette, elle est choisie pour occuper le formidable poste d’Echevine en charge de l’Education, Formation, Promotion Santé à l’Ecole; Centre Récréatifs Aérés et Jeunesse.

Durant ces quatre années, elle a mené à bien de nombreux projets, lancé plusieurs chantiers, stabilisé de très nombreuses situations précaires inadmissibles à ses yeux.

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Google Plus